Point of View


Recently, I read C. J. Gorden’s post on the writing element called point of view. It was an eye-opener for me. In her post, C.J. talks about taking a manuscript that she believed was editor-ready to a panel for critiquing. She learned much from the comments of the professional readers.

You can read C. J. Gorden’s entire piece here. I recommend it:

http://cjgorden.wordpress.com/category/elements-of-writing/point-of-view-elements-of-writing/

Her experience made me realize how uninformed I am as an author. I shoot from the hip. I may be lucky enough to string words together coherently, but I don’t know the first thing about many of the elements that make good, even great, writing.

I think I will follow C. J. Gorden’s example when I think my novel is editor-ready. I will pay a professional to read and critique it.

 

3 responses »

  1. I think consulting a professional for a manuscript critique is a great idea if one can wing it financially. Of course, it’s important to find a trustworthy source, just like with anything.

    • In my state, a community college holds a weekend long writers symposium. One can pay a fee to have a panel of published authors read and critique one’s manuscript. Several of the panel members teach at the university level, as well as writing books. That seems a good venue for me to use for finding a satisfactory professional to critique my stuff. I also have Acorn Book Services, owned by author Lauren Carr, in my region. So I am lucky to have choices for professional help.

Leave a Reply

