My First Anniversary


It’s been a year since I wrote my first post (the blog was on Blogger.com then) about my plan to write my first novel. I am reprinting that first post below. My progress hasn’t been as rapid as I expected. At first I felt guilty about that. Not anymore. I keep plodding forward. The goal hasn’t changed.

Monday, February 28, 2011

A Beginning

Am I crazy? I don’t think so, even though I quit my job in the midst of an economic meltdown. I am inspired by an idea, a dream: I want to live anywhere in the world and take my office with me. I want to learn the craft of painting pictures with words, of grabbing someone by the imagination, of massaging a reader’s  emotions AND GET PAID FOR IT. Last week I immersed myself in the Bay to Ocean Writer’s Conference in Wye Mills, MD and gorged. I studied handling time in fiction, craft aspects and techniques of writing, and the blog. I am intensely private and shy. I better get over that. By putting my dream in the blogosphere, my balloon of giddy gleefulness, now lighter than air, is vulnerable to pin-bearing prickers. I have a few reasons for creating this blog. First, it helps me distill the enthusiasm into rational exuberance. Second, it keeps me on track. Third, it may help me connect with other like-minded persons so we can encourage one another. Finally, I may learn a thing or two from others who read the blog. So here I go. I can check off 2 tasks: I attended the conference and I started the blog!  I am moving at the speed of a slug, but it’s in the right direction.
4 responses »

  1. Wonderful! Happy anniversary.
    And see how many hits so far. It looks like you’re off again.
    Now, get the book done.

  2. Congratulations. I am just 20 month old. I needed my comp geek friend for every post first few weeks as I was not even computer literate to write a letter, save and send. Came a long way too. Some of the people I have met have become very special friends beyond the posting and commenting. The experience has given me hope in the future because I see so many intelligent and talented people every day.

    • Carl, thank you for the welcome and encouragement. I find the WordPress community to be interactive and friendly. I look forward to growing, as you have, in my skills,

Leave a Reply

