The Size of Your But


While trying to get the hang of using WordPress, I found a great piece of inspiration at http://thebettermanprojects.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/day-155-the-size-of-your-but/. I will share excerpts of it below:

 

 

What is the size of your but?

 

 

I would go to the gym today, but…

I would write today, but…

I would weigh less, but…

I would try, but…

I would care, but…

 

We love our but’s. Take the word but out of your vocabulary. If you do, you have just given yourself unbelievable power to accomplish your dreams. Try saying that sentence again and replace the word but with something else. Go ahead…try it. You are going to sound like a fool trying to figure it out. Then, you will wonder why you are giving yourself a reason why you can’t do it in the first place. You will hear your voice, and find a way to make it happen.

 

HERE’S MORE GOOD STUFF FOUND ON THE SAME SITE:

It is not the critic who counts: not the man who points out howthe strong man stumbles or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes up short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming, but who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, who spends himself for a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows, in the end, the triumph of high achievement, and who, at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat.”

DO NOT LET FEAR or PROCRASTINATION GIVE YOU A BIG BUT!

 

3 responses »

  1. I learned a long time ago that the word “but” in a sentence negates everything that precedes it. It really does. I try to use the word “and” instead–it usually works and changes what I think about what I am saying or writing.

  2. I ran for office twice in the 80’s . Had no money and only tiny support group and got brutally crucified in the process. But I did get 26% of vote both times. I am a lot more polished and can take it on the chin. I did not merely watch the game. I was not a spectator or pundit. I made the arena an arena and I was the game. Never regret it. The blog is the new arena. And I win every day.

Leave a Reply

