For Every Writer, There Is a Reader


The writers group to which I belong is moving ahead on its anthology. What started out as a collection of fictional stories, each under 300 words, has morphed into something else. Now there will be microfiction, flash fiction, short non-fiction, short short stories and poetry.

One of the members expressed concern that some works may not be as polished or sophisticated as others. Certainly, in any anthology, there is a diversity of styles, if not themes.

It was decided at last week’s meeting that the works would be grouped by author. That seems sensible. It allows an audience to sample a couple of pieces by an author and move on, if that author doesn’t suit the reader’s taste. If the reader likes what an author writes, then  there will be several choice morsels to sample.

For every writer, there is a reader.

Some writers have broad appeal, usually because they are skilled, talented, clever.  They also have a knack to figure out and write what will be popular. Nevertheless, I contend that every writer can find an audience, even if it is an audience of one.

Some of the group members have a spiritual slant. Some are noir, fathoming the depths of human nature. Some are innocent or inspirational or comic or macabre. The collection will run the gamut.

Therefore, I choose not to worry about what is included in the anthology. What another author writes is not a reflection on me. My work stands or falls on its own merit.

Some readers will like my stuff. Others will hate it. To each his own.

The next squabble will likely be over the order of the authors and their work. That may be the fodder for a future post.

*****

Every child is an artist.  The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up.  ~Pablo Picasso

13 responses »

  1. I tried something like this in one of my creative writing classes. We never got it published, but we had a lot of fun writing it. Good for you, and good luck!

    • This is a first time around for me. It seems like a good idea. If it goes well and is fairly easy to do, maybe we blogging friends could do one together. That idea is premature. But as a long range planner, I am always looking ahead to the next project.

  2. I have been involved with a few anthologies and most went well but on one project a splinter group took over (three egos in complete unison) and the result was spoiled for the rest of us. Such a shame when everyone should be working together for the love of writing and even those who are not as proficient as others deserve a place. As you say, for every writer there is a reader.
    Alphabetical order is often the safest way to sort out order – good luck with it all 🙂

  3. Good luck! It’s great you’re getting your work out there, and it appears you are approaching it with a peaceful attitude. Always a plus. 🙂

    • For me to maintain sanity, there’s no other way. I find life is happier in Fayland if I don’t take myself too seriously. Thank you for the good wishes. I’ll take all of those I can get. xo

  4. I’m interested to see this take flight – and – would it be OK if I loved to hate your stuff? Would it, huh, huh?

    • Youbetcha. You can love to hate me any ole time. Just buy my stuff. Ha ha. By the way, I am doing a re-post on the Bradley Chronicles in 5 mins, this time following the directions. Care to take a peek?

  5. I wish you all the best with this, Faye. And I love the directive behind it all–that one needn’t write for an audience, that an audience will find you if you show up.

    • By the way, as a favor to me, would you take a look at my multiple posts around the Bradley Chronicles and give me some feedback on the writing exercises I did? Thanks bunches. xoxo to you, dear Cootster.

Leave a Reply

