My Cup Runneth Over


When I was young, the phrase “my cup runneth over” was commonly used to describe the moments when one didn’t think one could be any happier, any more content, any richer in life’s blessings.

After several days of bathing in the outpourings of support from you, who mean a lot to me, I am glowing from the inside, radiating on the outside. Beaming.

Forgive my indulgence in saccharine, but I feel candy coated, seeing the world through rose-colored rock candy crystals. It is uncommon, atypical, a-few-times-in-a- lifetime  that I feel this good. Normally when this level of optimism hits, I would take cover and look for the sky that is about to fall on me. But not today.

Instead, I am licking my milkshake moustache, chewing my bubble gum to the last nth of flavor, slurping the hot fudge from the side of the sundae glass, and sucking melted M & M’s from my fingertips. It’s an Ed Ames kind of moment. I am going to roll in it and carry the scent home.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EG_8vIEGCXk&feature=related

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

