Yesterday


It has taken me a little time to get situated in my new digs for my writing vacation. But the plan is working. I am writing!

I have completed a 7,200 word mystery short story. It is slated for publication with the works of other mystery writers in an anthology. The anthology will be used as a promotional giveaway at a writers’ conference. My goal is to have my novel done and ready for distribution/ sale at the same conference. My publisher Acorn Book Services is putting together the anthology to promote its stable of authors.

There has even been some talk about my sitting on a panel of new authors during the conference. That will only happen if I get the %$#@ book finished.

To that end, I wrote 1,000 words today on the novel. Since it has been MONTHS since I touched the manuscript, I had to read four chapters to reacquaint myself with the story line and characters before I could type a single word.  I made a vow to NEVER AGAIN let a book sit in the middle of writing it. It is too difficult to resume  the momentum of the story line once time passes.

So, Day 1 I chalked up 1,000 big ones. Onward and upward. . .at least I hope the tally keeps going up. My true confessions here will let you know if I keep my commitment. The plan is to write Monday through Friday, just like a real job. On the weekends I will reward myself. The size of the reward depends on how much writing I do.

The last time I touched the novel, I left things hanging in the middle of chapter thirteen. So I’d say I am about half way through the story. I have a bit more suspense-building to do in the tale, a few more twists and turns, before I can start wrapping it up.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

