Using Obscure Facts in Fiction


Did you know that “If you travel with a lot of cash [governments] just seize it and assume it is illegal. This is commonly called Policing for Profit. They have transformed the drug laws of money laundering into tax evasion claiming anyone with a foreign account not reporting that money is engaged in money laundering and they get to confiscate everything you have and you go to jail for up to 25 years,” says Martin Armstrong, economist.

In my upcoming novel Dead with Envy, similar obscure money laws play an important part in the story.

As an author, I found it fun to do the research because what I discovered was new to me. As a reader, I am equally fascinated when the writer teaches me something I didn’t know.

 

2 responses »

  1. Incorporating these things into fiction novel has always impressed me and elevated my impression of author’s writing as well as story quality. Until recent years much of my reading limited to history non fiction as had much disdain for historical novel. But I got hooked on Jack Whyte’s Camulod Chronicles, series on post Roman Britain. The research that goes into his writing is as intense as the effort of the non fiction writer, But what I esp like is that he gives us an understanding of the ways of just mere daily living through the characters as story evolves. Although centuries apart the hopes and satisfactions and disappointments of the characters reveal that ancient people were not very different from our contemporary selves albiet different circumstances and time.

Leave a Reply

