I Haven’t Quit


Just a quick note to say I haven’t quit on Dead with Envy. The editing has gone much more slowly than I knew it would.

Compound that with life and its complications, and my heart hasn’t been in the writing . Enough said.

Last night I heard a beautiful song. I was mesmerized by the haunting vulnerability of the lyrics. Oh, that I could write with that raw power and simplicity, I thought. So I am embedding it below to serve as a prompt to those of you who like music to inspire your words.

9 responses »

  1. Every writer goes through a spell when the characters she writes refuse to cooperate, especially during the editing stage. I’m there, too, as we speak. I’m using NaNoWriMo to get a jump start on my sequel to The Trouble With Henry, and six days in, I really have no desire to tell their story.

    Just remember that the stresses you feel come from things that are beyond your control. It doesn’t make them less valid, just more annoying.

    Take a deep breath and give yourself permission to go at the pace that’s comfortable for you. Dead with Envy is a brilliant story, one that only you can tell. Writing is a solitary sport, but that doesn’t mean you’re alone. Don’t forget, I’m just an email away and I’m willing to help in any way I can.

    Hugs. Lots of them. As many as you need plus a thousand.

Leave a Reply

