Are You Smoking H-opium?


Lately I have been smoking hopium.

Smoking hopium is always wishing and hoping that something different will happen even though I keep doing the same thing.

Like telling myself I am going to write a book. Yet every day, I do everything but anything related to writing the next chapter.  I am addicted to hoping and wishing.

As in any addiction, I have to change my behavior to change my outcome. And I have to get off dead center and move toward my goal.

Advice to Fay:

Put away the hookah. Be honest with yourself. Identify the self-sabotaging behaviors in your life. List them. Then list what you are going to do differently, starting today, to change your behavior. Take action on your list. Change your behavior, change your life.

No more smoking hopium.

11 responses »

  1. Omg, I do exactly the same thing. I want so badly to finish my novel but every day I make excuses not to work on it. I know I’m afraid of failure, but I don’t know what to do to tell myself to suck it up and try anyway. Good luck to you and me both. Cheers.

    • Thank you for your comment.

      Slooooowly, I am coming to believe that for every writer, there is a reader. That viewpoint liberates me to create. But I haven’t reached full maturity in that point of view yet. That’s part of the procrastination. The other part is my story took on a life of its own, so I don’t know where it is going. Sometimes I have to wait until my brain suggests the next direction. That’s where I am now. I got my new direction for the next chapter at the same time as I have too many irons in the fire. Each iron is a priority — a commitment to someone or something that I must honor. So now my novel, which is my commitment to me, is at the bottom of the list because the other obligations have time deadlines.

      That perspective (putting me last) is the topic for another post on this blog. 🙂

  2. Yes, I do. Far too much. I am deathly afraid of it but Robin’s series has helped me to at least open it and not be afraid to touch else it bite my fingers off.

  3. I’m hooked on that same funny hopium stuff, confound it!
    PS – got news – you’re already a writer. Maybe not a novelist or reporter yet, but a writer’s a writer. Can’t get away from it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

