Reward


One of the items on my bucket list was to see petroglyphs in situ. As a reward to myself for finishing the first draft of the novel, I went to Valley of Fire State Park in Nevada and saw a collection of over 800 specimens in the Mouse’s Tank region.

public use Valley_of_Fire_Petroglyphs

(photo from Mr. Silva, Wikipedia, in the public domain)

A tank is a natural well in a depression in a rock formation that collects rain water and holds it over a long period. The tanks were used by native peoples as a source of drinking water in the desert. Summer temperatures in Valley of Fire can reach 120 degrees.

Seeing the petroglyph above, and others nearby, thrilled me. I can scratch that item off the bucket list.

2 responses »

    • It became one of my favorites, too. I love the campground, nestled in among the giant boulder formations. Plus everything was blooming. AND I saw mountain sheep and a pair of Gambel quail. So it was a great visit.

Leave a Reply

